Monitoring solar heat

Hot water is a substantial part of the building services and a significant energy consumer.

When using hot water in the kitchen and the baths of the tagungswerk guest house not only water through the direct consumption of groundwater (Berliner tap water) is consumed but also a significant amount is spent on energy. This takes place in the tagungswerk as throughout the whole KuBiZ project primarily through the use of gas. But electricity is used as well – mainly for pumps that get run on the water circuits. In order to circulate the hot 60° hot water in the house, we use a relatively small so-called “high-efficiency pump” from the best energy efficiency class (A). Even with the use of gas and electricity we create a (indirect) water footprint.

To make the hot water throughout the house as efficient and environmentally friendly as possible, we decided during the reconstruction and renovation of the building to separate the heating and hot water supply. This allows in the summer months, to turn the large boiler (400 litre boiler capacity) completely off and to produce hot water only with a small gas heater. Here we save a lot energy by reducing the amount of process heat. In addition, we have installed a solar heating system with a size of 36.5 m² collector area on the south roof. Using this system, we can make solar energy for water heating available. Last year we were able to use about 8.7 MWh solar energy.

On sunny days in spring and summer, we cover most of the energy required for hot water supply from solar energy. Nevertheless, our share of the water footprint of hot water usage is not small. In our overall water-footprint calculation of tagungswerk we used an estimate because an accurate calculation would have exceeded our capacity. The positive effects of the solar thermal system were taken into account.

In the context of the project “Water and Sustainability” and in order to use the best practice example of our solar hot water production in education and make it visible for our guests we installed an extension of the control electronics which now also allows to make the current values ​​and the facility-scheme in Internet (on the website of tagungswerk and KuBiZ) visible. In addition a digital display board which provides information on the solar thermal yield at the main entrance, which is being renovated yet, will be installed after the work is finished. The preparations for this have already been taken from us.

Here is the result of our work.

Solarthermie Monitoring

Warmwasser ist eine wesentlicher Teil der Haustechnik und ein wesentlicher Energieverbraucher.

Bei der Nutzung von Warmwasser in der Küche und den Bädern des tagungswerk Gästehauses wird nicht nur Wasser über den direkten Konsum an Grundwasser (Berliner Leitungswasser) verbraucht sondern auch eine erhebliche Menge an Energie aufgewendet. Dies geschieht im tagungswerk wie im ganzen KuBiZ-Projekt vor allem durch die Nutzung von Gas. Aber auch Strom wird verbraucht vor allem von Pumpen die die Wasserkreisläufe am laufen erhalten. Um das 60° heiße Warmwasser im Haus zirkulieren zu lassen verwenden wir eine relativ kleine sogenannte “Hocheffizienzpumpe” aus der besten Energieeffizienzklasse (A). Auch bei der Nutzung von Gas und Strom entsteht ein (indirekter) Wasserfußabdruck.

Um die Warmwasserversorgung im ganzen Haus so effizient und umweltfreundlich wie möglich zu gestalten, haben wir uns während des Umbaus und der Sanierung des Hauses für die Trennung von Heizung und Warmwasserversorgung entschieden. Dies ermöglicht in den Sommermonaten den großen Heizkessel (400 Liter Kesselinhalt) komplett abzuschalten und Warmwasser ausschließlich mit einer kleinen Gastherme zu erzeugen. Hier geht wesentlich weniger Prozesswärme verloren. Ergänzend haben wir ein Solarthermiesystem mit einer Größe von 36,5 m² Kollektorfläche auf dem Süd-Dach installiert. Mit Hilfe dieser Anlage können wir Sonnenenergie zur Wassererwärmung nutzbar machen. Im letzten Jahr konnten wir so ca. 8,7 MWh Sonnenenergie nutzen.

An sonnigen tagen im Frühjahr und Sommer decken wir den größten Teil der benötigten Energie zur Warmwasserversorgung aus Sonnenenergie. Trotzdem ist unser Anteil am Wasserfußabdruck der Warmwassernutzung nicht klein. In unserer Fußabdruckberechnung haben wir einen Schätzwert dafür angesetzt, da eine genaue Berechnung unsere Kapazitäten überstiegen hätte. Die positiven Effekte der Solarthermie-Anlage wurden berücksichtigt.

Um das Prinzip der solaren Warmwassererzeugung in der Bildungsarbeit nutzen zu können und auch für unsere Gäste sichtbar zu machen haben wir im Rahmen des Projekt “Water and sustainability” eine Erweiterung der Steuerungselektronik vorgenommen, die es nun auch erlaubt, die aktuellen Werte und das Anlagenschema im Internet (auf dieser Website) sichtbar zu machen. Zudem soll am Haupteingang, der derzeit renoviert wird nach Abschluss der Arbeiten noch eine digitale Anzeigentafel, die über den Solarthermie-Ertrag informiert, installiert werden. Die Vorbereitungen dafür wurden von uns bereits getroffen.

Hier das Ergebnis unserer Arbeit.